Deleting activity is something I get a lot of questions about. It’s not something that is necessarily very intuitive to do in the app because it’s not an activity I expect to be a common task to do. So here is some information about it.
First let me be clear, that whenever you see in ConnectStats mention of deleting an activity, it’s only going to be in the local cache of ConnectStats. There are no functionality in the app to delete activities from the source system, whether it’s Garmin or Strava. So you should not worry about deleting anything in ConnectStats, it will only affect its local cache and after refresh it should come back. You can read more about ConnectStats cache management here (quite a bit is repeated here as well)
Deleting Activities from Garmin or Strava
If you delete an activity in Garmin or Strava, ConnectStats should pick it up and remove the activity from its cache, but only if this is one of the last 20 or so activities. ConnectStats only by default checks status of the last 20 activities (or until the last downloaded activity in the cache is found). This is to save bandwidth as it’s uncommon to delete or edit activities that are older.
If you delete an older activity, you will need to force ConnectStats to do a full download and check of the history. For that, go to settings, profile and select Force Reload Old Activities. This will take more time but check every activities in your history.
Deleting Activities from ConnectStats Cache
This should really only be useful if you have some issues in your cache and want to reload the activities from scratch, or if you downloaded activity from a service you no longer want to see. Basically I expect most people to not have to do that. But in case you really feel you need to, you have to go to settings and profile, then select delete activity or profile, your choice is then
Delete Profile: this will delete the whole profile, including associated settings and all the cached activities
Delete Some Activities: this will delete all the activities in the local cache from the most recent until the activity you have currently selected
Delete All Activities: this will delete all the activities in the local cache but preserve your profile settings
If you have duplicate activities, you will have to delete all the duplicate activities, as per the previous section, and reload the activities, after making sure the source if the duplicate is fixed. The duplicate can either come from duplicate in the original service, then delete them on the service (Garmin or Strava) before you download again into connect stats. Or it can come because you have downloaded the same activities from 2 different services, for example if you enabled Strava and Garmin, while the two services are sync’d. In that case, before you download again, disable download for one of the two services in ConnectStats.
Here you go, hope this clear things up